Mother of Peace Illovo is governed and led by a board composed of business, theological and professional experts. Our board is responsible for overseeing the growth of Mother of Peace Illovo in South Africa and monitoring our overall activities.


Our Board of Directors

Mr Philip King  – Chairman

Mr King is the director of a telephone management company, Multimatics and has been involved with Mother of Peace Illovo from its inception.

Ms Linda Mgobozi

Ms Mgobozi is a reporter with S.A.B.C. Television. In addition to Mother of Peace Illovo, she is a director on the management board of God’s Golden Acre “Khayelihle”.

Rt Rev Bishop Pius Mlungisi Dlungwane

Rt Rev Bishop Dlungwane is the bishop of Mariannhill Diocese that Mother of Peace Illovo falls under. He was first ordained as a priest in 1976 and received a Doctorate in Theology from the University of St. Paul and a PhD from the University of Ottawa in 1997.

Bishop Barry Wood

Bishop Wood has been a priest for over 45 years and was ordained as a Bishop in 2006. He was a founding member of Mother of Peace – Illovo and is currently the Titular Bishop of Babra and Auxiliary Bishop of the Durban Archdiocese.

Mr Gavin Gradwell

Mr Gradwell is the Community Leader and Chairman of the Mother of Peace Illovo Management Committee. He also sits on the Board of CADACC (Catholic Archdiocese of Durban AIDS Care Committee). He was previously a digital electronics lecturer at Mangosuthu University of Technology for 30 years.

Mrs Aneska du Pont

Mrs Aneska du Pont is the current president of the Amanzimtoti Rotary Club.

Father Michael Doncwabe

Father Michael is the parish priest at Our Lady of Assumption in Umkomaas.

Father Angelicus Chiliza

Father Chiliza is the Vicar General at Mahlabashane Mission and is in charge of the area under Mariannhill Diocese that Mother of Peace Illovo is located.

Mrs Beverley Olbers

Mrs Olbers and her twin sister Rene van Meygaarden were the founders of Mother of Peace. They started the first community in Johannesburg, South Africa in 1989.